Bottom

Only admin can see forums

• paul-burwell
    Participant

@paul-burwell

Hi,

Running WP 4.3.1
    Running bbPress 2.5.8

Recently installed bbPress and have been trying, so far unsuccessfully, to have it function the way it should. If a user is logged in (standard user) or not logged in and they try to access the forum (https://bsop.staging.wpengine.com/forum/lightroom-2/) they get a 404 error. If I log in as an admin I can visit that URL without issue.

I’ve tried every one of the debugging suggestions (deactivated everything but bbPress, used the 2012 theme, reset permalinks, reinstalled bbPress, etc.)

I finally activated the WP_Debug flag and see the following error being thrown:

Notice: bbp_setup_current_user was called incorrectly. The current user is being initialized without using $wp->init(). Please see Debugging in WordPress for more information. (This message was added in version 2.3.) in /nas/wp/www/staging/bsop/wp-includes/functions.php on line 3622

I’m testing on my staging server through WP_Engine so I have full ability to play as required to resolve this.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Paul

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)

• paul-burwell
    Participant

@paul-burwell

I have also now tried reinstalling WordPress and still have the exact same issue.

I could really use a hand trying to solve this.

Thanks,

Paul

paul-burwell
    Participant

@paul-burwell

This has been solved.

Strangely, if a forum is marked as hidden, it actually is.

Who’d of thought it?

What confused me is that I am using this in conjunction of LearnDash and BuddyPress. And their integrations with each other. Strangely, BuddyPress still allows users to access Forums marked as Hidden.

Paul

GraphicsbyEB
    Participant

@graphicsbyeb

WHAT DID YOU DO??? I’ve been wrestling with this for days!