Categories
Search
Bottom

Import BB data from CSV file to bbPress forum

• harpeml
    Participant

@harpeml

Hello,

I am new to the WordPress world and setting up my first experimental site inside my company. I want to move a blog/forum from an old home grown system to a new bbPress forum. I do not need to carry over replies; just the topics, write ups, author, and tags. I have all of the information in a spreadsheet. Assuming all of the old authors have accounts in the new WordPress, is there a way to import the topics and their metadata? I see importers for some specific BBs but nothing for just a generic data file.

Thanks much for any suggestions,
    Mike Harper

Viewing 25 replies - 1 through 25 (of 33 total)
  • I hadn’t really thought about importing from CSV, until now.

The importer included with bbPress is setup to only import from a MySQL database.

We could create a guide to create a simple to database that you could import your CSV into and then bbPress import from that.

Otherwise using the built in importer within WordPress (wp-admin -> tools -> import /wp-admin/import.php) there are some https://wordpress.org/plugins/search.php?q=CSV+importer CSV importers that might do the job. You could modify one of these to import the data instead of WordPress post type ‘post’ you would want your topics to use the ‘topic’ post type for bbPress (Forums are ‘forum’ and Replies are ‘reply’)

Either of the ways above should be rather straight forward and I might take a look at few of those importers and fork one specifically for importing from CSV to bbPress in the future.

sciman@cpp.edu
    Participant

@scimancsupomonaedu