Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

What do you do for a living?

• davidbessler

@davidbessler

My friends think it’s crazy that I spend my time teaching myself php, mysql, and learning how to write plugins, when I’m an emergency veterinarian. I told them lots of people do it. They tell me I’m the only veterinarian that does this.

Is this true? Am I that strange? What do you all do? Those of you who write plugins and learn php and stuff.

Viewing 17 replies - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)

• ardentfrost

@ardentfrost

I am a technician for Audio, Video, and Control equipment. The only programming I do at work is control programming, but it’s not like php and stuff. I got into bbpress plugins because I wanted to brush up on php skills and learn SQL… plus it’s fun (and doesn’t look bad on a resume).

I’m an imaginary housewife with an unhealthy side-line in goat herding and theoretical underwater basket-weaving. My favourite colours are not visible to those without impaired vision. I believe I am allergic to prime numbers that do not appear as part of the sequence of Pi and spend my spare time checking this list in order to find such a number. Only one statement here is true, but it should help you deduce the rest.

I trade for a living and I mean almost everything and anything, except for my wife and son of course;) Commodities mainly specializing in agriculture, but also in the oil industry. I know a bit about coding and the logic behind code, but I really like to help people out. I love music and that is how I started in the web side of things….

Webhosting although I’m trying to get out of it now due to legal issues with my ex that won’t even allow me to pull out a paycheck. *grumble*

Besides that, I collect a tiny month disability check that barely covers my rent, a fair amount of local volenteer work, and make Mark’s life a living hell by pointing out spammers over in the wp.com support forums.:)

I’m a web developer specializing in PHP/XHTML/CSS and SQL.