Categories
Search
Bottom

Updated to 2.5.4 on multisite and forum menu problems

• nathanegraham
    Participant

@nathanegraham

Hi,

Amazing plugin. Just ran into an unusual problem. I have a large multisite and I’ve been using bbpress and buddypress for a couple years with no problems until now. I just updated bbpress to 2.5.4 and here’s the problem:

1. site administrator activates bbpress
    2. the site administrator does not see Forums, Topics, and Replies in the dashboard menu
    3. If I navigate to their site as a network admin, I can see Forums, Topics, and Replies

So only network admin can see these menu items if activated on a site-by-site basis.

If I network activate bbpress, then everyone sees Forums, Topics, and Replies. I want to allow users to choose to activate bbpress on a site by site basis.

I’m on 3.9.2 and have tried disabling all plugins except multisite plugin management. Thoughts?

Thanks!

Viewing 22 replies - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Are you saying this worked as expected with bbPress 2.5.3 and now 2.5.4 has broken this functionality?

nathanegraham
    Participant

@nathanegraham

Hi Stephen,

Thanks for responding! I actually updated from 2.5.2 to 2.5.4. Before I updated, I could just activate bbpress on a site-by-site basis on the multisite network and folks could use it just on their particular site. When I updated from 2.5.2 to 2.5.4, they could activate it on their site and I could see Forums, Topics, Replies but they couldn’t. I tested with the various roles and only Network Admin could see the menu items Forums, Topics, Replies. However, the actual forums were there and if I sent the site admin or site editor, etc., a direct link to the site forum, then could access it. It’s just the menu item visibility that’s the problem.

Thanks!

jugoretz
    Participant

@jugoretz