Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Reliable bbPress Hosting?

• The 2 key issues are server uptime and email reliability.

In the short 4 months that my forum has been running, I’ve had so many incidences of users registering 2 usernames. I’ve come to learn that the 2nd one is out of frustration that the email containing the password did not arrive.

This weekend, I have had no outbound email and sick of spending money on AdWords to bring in people that can’t sign up.

Apart from the registration email, I am using both Auto Favorite & Post Notification plugins. Therefore, reliable email is very important to maintain posting activity.

I’ve read alot about concerns that bbPress isn’t sending email. After extensive testing and in my situation, the problem is with the host.

I’m looking to avoid dedicated hosting at this time because my day job is funding this venture already. Can anyone recommend a hosting service that offers good reliability in both uptime and email?

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

• chrishajer
    Participant

@chrishajer

I use http://www.1and1.com and have for the past 4 years or so, since their 3-year free preview began. You will find lots of negative things online about 1&1 if you look around, but honestly, I haven’t had any major issues with them. I did have a problem at one point with the box they had me on being overloaded, and it took some work to convince them that the problem was some other site dragging the whole box down, but since they moved that site (or my account, I’m not sure which) things have been great. Convincing support to escalate a ticket is sometimes difficult, but if you know what you’re talking about, they do it. They always follow up via email as well. I have called for things and been on hold, but I don’t know of a hosting company out there where that won’t happen occasionally. Thankfully, I haven’t had to call them much in 4 years.