Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Need Read Hidden capability to see Private Forums?

• majecdad
    Participant

@majecdad

I’m relatively new to bbpress, but have read as much as possible so to not look stupid. 🙂

I’m wondering if this is expected behavior.

I have a (private) Category with (private) Forums which is set as a Group Forum in conjunction with BuddyPress.

Users who have the capabilities to Read Private Forums/Topics/Replies can NOT see any of the Topics or Replies in any of the Private forums, UNLESS I either: a) add the ‘Read Hidden’ capability, or b) change the forum to be ‘Public.’

Neither of those are strategies I’d want to employ.

I also use the PMPro plugin and their bbpress addon, which I *could* use to allow the Forums to be ‘Public’, but locked down to non-Members, but I’m not sure if that’s the best route either?

Am I missing something on how best to have Private Forums under a Category in bbpress?

Appreciate any guidance or pointing me in a direction to resolve.

Thanks.

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

• majecdad
    Participant

@majecdad

Hi all,

I’ve continued to test this with both the capabilities plugin from @johnjamesjacoby as well as some nice custom code to create an entire new bbp role from @robin-w … to no avail. In neither case can I get a bbp user to see private posts unless they can see hidden ones too (or if I make the forum ‘public’).

Might this be related to my usage of ‘sub-forums’?

I’m working hard to try different things to figure it out. Can anyone point me in a direction that might resolve?

Thanks.

Robkk

@robkk

hmm not sure on this.

i will test it out though and see if i find anything.

contact the BuddyPress support and see if they know anything i dont know since you have Groups too.

https://buddypress.org/support/

majecdad
    Participant

@majecdad