Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

My impressions so far

• Jimi Wikman
    Participant

@mortfiles

I don’t know why, but for some reason I decided to punish myself on my latest project (ekatana.se if anyone wan to look) and I went ahead and installed BBPress along with Buddypress. Now I have done this a few times before in the last 3-4 years and it has always been a very painful experience.

This time was not so bad and I actually got most things working pretty much instantly with just som minor CSS changes. BBPress however is not really a forum in my opinion yet and I had to go through a ton of posts and articles with half baked solutions and snippets just to get anywhere near what I think a forum should look like and behave.

Now I admit that I am biased, having worked for many, many years with IPB which is the best forum out there and I have been working with forum software since 1996…

However, BBPress have really taken a leap forward in the last few years and I look forward to see it go even further, in fact i hope to be able to lend som assistance in the UX and design department should it be needed. Since I am a systemtester as well, I hope to be able to break stuff on a regular basis as well ๐Ÿ™‚

I really look forward to the forum grouping I see is already pretty much done and which is working just fine on my forum as far as I can tell. When time permit I will give more input into what features I see as necessary, both in the frontend and the backend and util then I just want to say that I am far from impressed, but I see hope for BBPress.

Keep up the good work!

Viewing 19 replies - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)

• Robkk

@robkk

BBPress however is not really a forum in my opinion yet

you know i never get when people say that

what is bbpress missing that really should be implemented to make it a guaranteed forum??