Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

let’s build a poll plugin!

• _ck_
    Participant

@_ck_

Find/tell me one some of the best WordPress or other php open source poll programs and I’ll do my best to port it over…

Viewing 22 replies - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • And I thought this was actually about _building_ one. Ah well.

I suspect that you don’t actually need help using Google.

_ck_
    Participant

@_ck_

Well I don’t like to re-invent the wheel if it’s been done.

Many times there are lots of little things you don’t think about when you try to build something from scratch vs convert a program that’s had years of development and on it’s 3rd generation.

It’s far enough work at times to make things work with bbpress. I’ve already spent half a dozen hours this month tracking down subtle bugs in other people’s plugins.

But if you want to try to make one from scratch I’ll do what I can though I am not a professional programmer by any means.

If I want to try to make one from scratch, there’s no need for you to do it. Because, you see, I’d want to make it. But thanks.

_ck_
    Participant

@_ck_

Er, okay. I don’t follow. Are you making one then?

Or are you just rubbishing my idea of porting one of hundreds of existing php polling programs (a dozen for wordpress alone) to save weeks of development and bug squashing?

bbPress needs some serious options fast if it’s going to hit critical mass and attract additional quality programmers. I just want to see a decent polling feature added as soon as reasonable possible.

I’m not making one yet and I’m not rubbishing your idea. Originally I thought _you_ were making one which would have been interesting. But you porting one isn’t interesting to me. That’s not to say it’s a bad idea … it’s just not interesting to me. That is all there was to it.

so1o
    Participant

@so1o

I think WP Poll is a good one to port..

_ck_
    Participant

@_ck_

You mean the one by GamerZ S010?