Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Forum Subscriber Notification

• madflute
    Participant

@madflute

Hi, I am new to WP so appreciate your patience.

I need to have BBP subscribers notified of new forum/topic and/or replies but not sure how to make it work. I’d had thought the fact each Forum has “Subscribe” option made me think it would notify by email out of the box.

SMTP is working. In fact, bbPress Notify (No-Spam) works, but it sends out to hardcoded recipients, not subscribers who chose to subscribe specific Forum.

Added issue here is I have 2 private groups. So the notification really has to be subscribers choice per Forum.

WP4.4.2
    BBP 2.5.8
    So far I have
    AsynCRONous bbPress Subscriptions 2.1
    bbP Manage Subscriptions 1.2.0
    bbP private groups 3.1.9
    bbP Toolkit 1.0.6
    bbPress Notify (No-Spam) 1.10
    Better Notifications for WordPress 1.3.9.5
    topic subscribe 1.0

I understand the bbPress Notify has paid plugins to respect the private group and user opt-out, but this is a non-profit organization and everything is coming out of my pocket.

Hope someone could point me to a right direction. Here is the URL
    http://jazztokyo.org/forums/
    but you won’t see all the forums in the private groups.

Thank you in advance.

P.S., yes it is reproducible with TwentySixteen.

-Hiro

Viewing 11 replies - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)

• Pascal Casier

@casiepa

The basics: Every user has to click on ‘Subscribe’ on top of the forum to get an email in case of new topics in the forum. Every user has to tick at the bottom when giving a reply to get other replies and follow the topic. You never receive emails for your own stuff.
    With the bbP toolkit you can tick automatically.
    With the bbP Manage Subscriptions, you can see what users are subscribed.
    The Asyncronous subscriptions should help you for some issues that are known.