Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

New replies first

• blg002
    Participant

@blg002

Is there a way to have replies in a topic display in reverse chronological order. i.e.

Instead of:
    – Initial post
    – Reply 1
    – Reply 2
    – Reply 3

You can do this:
    – Reply 3
    – Reply 2
    – Reply 1
    – Initial post

Viewing 14 replies - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)

• flyden
    Participant

@flyden

Yes please, I’m looking for the same functionality?

slprof
    Participant

@slprof

Yes. I need this also. I would like:

Initial post
    – reply 3
    – reply 2
    – reply 1

Maybe there’s a better way for me to do this. I post topics like “Write a journal entry” — I’m an English teacher. I don’t want to have to scroll down forever or page over. I want the latest reply by the student minus the other student’s comments to show up. Now THAT would be cool. Hm. I should post this elsewhere but I think it’s kinda related to blg002’s post.

Robin W

@robin-w

@slprof

Try putting this in your functions file

function change_reply_order() {
    $args['order'] = 'DESC';
     return $args;
    }
    add_filter('bbp_before_has_replies_parse_args', 'change_reply_order');

I haven’t tested, so come back if it doesn’t work, it should do topic then replies with latest at top

Robin W

@robin-w

@slprof

If you want to try just the latest reply, then try

$args['order'] = 'DESC';
    $args['posts_per_page'] = '1';
    return $args;
    }

But I suspect it will have some weird effects on the site, and of course you’ll never see anything but the latest post, so if pupil a posts and a minute laters pupil b, then you’ll never see pupil a’s.

or do you mean that for each topic, pupil a would be pupil a’s reply, pupil b would see pupils b’s reply etc.?

SandyRig
    Participant

@sandyrig