Bottom

WP Multisite "You do not have sufficient permissions to access this page"

• SysFailure0x5a
    Participant

@sysfailure0x5a

WordPress Multisite 3.6
    BBPress 2.4
    Error “You do not have sufficient permissions to access this page”

As a super admin, I can activate bbpress on each sub-blog and access it’s settings. If a blog admin tries to activate bbpress or access it’s setting they receive, “You do not have sufficient permissions to access this page”.

If I activate it for them I can see the menu’s on their dashboard for bbpress, but they cannot. I’ve uninstalled, reinstalled, deactivated all other plugins, etc. All the normal troubleshooting hasn’t worked. I checked the MySQL Database after uninstalling bbpress and none of the bb_ tables are there so I assume it completely removed.

I’ve been troubleshooting this for about 3 days now. Very irritating.

Viewing 10 replies - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)

• John James Jacoby
    Keymaster

@johnjamesjacoby

bbPress doesn’t add any bb_ tables anymore. It sounds like none of your admins have the Keymaster role.

If you want to remap user roles, visit Tools > Forums and tick the “Remap existing users to default forum roles” box, and repair them. That will make all Administrators on that site also be Keymasters.

If you want to automatically map regular registered users to have a role in each site’s forums, visit Settings > Forums and tick “Auto role”.

Admittedly, the multisite integration right now isn’t ideal; you may end up building plugins to modify the exact behavior to suit your needs. If that’s the case, I’d love to read about your problem and solution, to see if there’s room for better default behaviors in bbPress core.

Xevo
    Participant

@xevo

Could be with your hosting as well, since some wordpress hosts add Must Use plugins that wreck bbPress, had the same issue with Page.ly.

SysFailure0x5a
    Participant

@sysfailure0x5a