Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

WordPress update 4.9.8 error with plugin

• smartplanhelp
    Participant

@smartplanhelp

I believe my site was automatically updated to WordPress 4.9.8 today. I went to
    Appearance -> Customize, and I got a 505 Internal Error page. After a bit of
    digging, I found that bbpress v 2.5.14, when deactivated, makes this problem go
    away. When I enable the plugin again, the problem returns. When Deactivated the
    problem goes away again. Everything else seems to work fine except for the Customize under Appearance. Since this is isolated to bbpress, I figured I should notify you.

Viewing 11 replies - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)

• Robin W

@robin-w

Looks like a conflict between your theme, bbpress and 4.9.8.

It works fine with a default theme.

what theme are you using?

smartplanhelp
    Participant

@smartplanhelp

I am using the WordPress Twenty Sixteen theme. Does it matter that I did not create a custom theme?
    I’m new to WP, so I’m not saying it isn’t my fault. I just figured I should start here.

You should find exact error behind this problem, otherwise, it will be hard to replicate. Any 500 internal error means that there is PHP error somewhere, and your server should have logged that error in the error log.

smartplanhelp
    Participant

@smartplanhelp

I’m still new with playing with this stuff. Here is the error log. The most I can do is say “yep, looks like an error.” I’m not afraid to get my hands dirty, but I have no idea what to do about it.

1533062299: /hermes/bosnaweb21a/b1063/myd.fort/public_html/smartplanhelp.com/ssv3_payload_extractor-n1fsgqs3Kq.php startup
    [31-Jul-2018 14:38:38 America/New_York] PHP Notice: Undefined variable: listItem in /hermes/bosnaweb21a/b1063/myd.fort/public_html/smartplanhelp.com/ssv3_payload_extractor-n1fsgqs3Kq.php on line 341