Categories
Search
Bottom

Redirect non-Logged in Users

• hclarke20
    Participant

@hclarke20

Hi,

I am having issues with using bbpress. When I post something in the forum, a user who is subscribed to the forum, then receives an email with a link to the post I have just created. However, the user will click on the link and then recieve a 404 page not found message. This is because the forum is private and the user is not currently logged in.

I was wondering if anyone has a solution to ensure that if a user is not logged into the forum, that they would get the Log In page to access the forum rather than the 404 redirect.

I cannot put a direct redirect from the post to the login page, because then this would happen for all logged in users too.

Any help would be greatly appreciated – I am not a PHP expert either, so please explain things in simple terms if changes to the PHP are necessary.

Thank you.

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

• grayson_marik
    Participant

@grayson_marik

I would love to have a hint on this too!

johneagle
    Participant

@johneagle

Same!

Robin W

@robin-w

I’m looking at this

grayson_marik
    Participant

@grayson_marik

I solved it by using a 404 plugin, which allowed me to generate my own 404 page, which then included links to register / login. Not a sollution but a walk around.

Robin W

@robin-w

ok, bit of code that does redirect but this is via wordpress login- this will be added to my style pack plugin shortly, with some further features, such as bbpress login

//add private forum check
    add_action( 'bbp_template_redirect', 'rew_access_if_logged_out', 3 );

function rew_access_if_logged_out(){
    	$topic_slug = get_option( '_bbp_topic_slug') ;
    	//quick check if we need to do this function
    	if (strpos($_SERVER['REQUEST_URI'], $topic_slug) == FALSE) return ;
    	$login_check=0 ;
    	$forum_slug = bbp_get_root_slug() ;