Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Preventing bbPress access via redirection to WordPress login

• Hi guys,

This is my first post here, but I’ve been building an wp/bb integrated site for a few weeks now, and I’ve come to the point where I think it’s time to write my first plugin. I want this plugin to redirect users to my WordPress login page if they are not logged in. It is important that the forums remain private and also that there is only one point of entry to the site for users, so as to avoid any confusion.

I have _ck_’s Hidden Forums plugin set up to control access to forums, and that’s working fine, but I need some advice on how to handle an issue or two in the code I’ve written so far. Now, I don’t do a ton of programming, and this is my first attempt at anything like this, so bear with me if I’ve committed any cardinal sins.

<?
    add_action('bb_init','login_redirect_init',300);
    function login_redirect_init()
    {
    global $bb_current_user;
    $id = (!empty($bb_current_user)) ? intval($bb_current_user->ID) : 0;
    if( $id < 1 )
    {
    $redirection = 'http://'.$_SERVER['SERVER_NAME'].'/caa/wp-login.php?redirect_to='.$_SERVER['REQUEST_URI'];
    if (function_exists('status_header'))
    status_header( 302 );
    header("HTTP/1.1 302 Temporary Redirect");
    header("Location:".$redirection);
    exit();
    }
    }
    ?>

As it is now, accessing bbPress redirects to wp-login with the proper redirection URL (I’m using the WP Members Only plugin), but then logging in from there kicks me back to the wp-login page again. I’m thinking that perhaps bb_init is not the hook for me, as it appears that the login process is not getting a chance to do its thing, and thus I’m getting booted out. As a test, I tried bb_head, but of course the headers have been sent by then, and the redirect does not work.