Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

One Off Identities or Posting As Multiple Users

• Ellis Benus
    Participant

@glaxton

Hello, this is my first time positing here, so please forgive me if this is in the wrong thread.

I’m wanting to build a play by post (PBP) website for a D&D / Pathfinder game I’m currently running on a different website.

I know the typical forum has someone post as a single user, but in a Dungeons and Dragons game, the DM/GM posts as tons of NPCs and other characters.

The current website we use makes this as simple as selecting a character from a drop menu and the post looks like it’s from them, with their avatar and name.

Does anything like this exist for bbpress?

If not, can anyone guide me to documentation for how I might accomplish this.

Yes, I’m aware of the Switch Users plug-in but that would be a huge pain for how often I would need to switch and I want to make this option for players who run multiple characters as well.

Thanks in advance

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)

• Robin W

@robin-w

nothing exists as far as I know. Like everything it could be coded, but beyond free help.

Ellis Benus
    Participant

@glaxton

Yep… I’m aware… That’s why I asked about documentation. If anyone can (usefully) respond with a link to an area of the documentation that deals with user identities at submission or how a post/thread/reply is associated with a given user.

My current idea is to program the “submit reply” box to have a drop menu that lists a certain selection of names. If I have to create user accounts for each, I can, but I’m thinking instead of making a custom post type called Characters which it populates from. This would allow me to associate multiple characters with one user, give them each avatars, and additional details.