Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

More SEO’d URLs

• getfree
    Participant

@getfree

I would like to make the URLs more SEO friendly.

For example, if I have a thread in some subforum the slug is now just /topic/thread_name, whereas I think a more appropriate slug would be something like /forums/subforum_name/thread_name.

The same goes for the subforums which are now /Forum/root/subforum_name, and I would like to get rid of the root here as well (it doesn’t show up in the forum index). What is the purpose of the Forum Root slug, anyway??

I was quite surprised I couldn’t find any discussion about this.
    Disclaimer: I am not an SEO expert, so if any of this doesn’t really matter please let me know ๐Ÿ™‚

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)

• Robin W

@robin-w

The same goes for the subforums which are now /Forum/root/subforum_name, and I would like to get rid of the root here as well (it doesnโ€™t show up in the forum index). What is the purpose of the Forum Root slug, anyway??

dashboard>settings>forums>forum prefix and exclude it!

getfree
    Participant

@getfree

Thanks Robin.

I had it unchecked. Which got me more confused.

BUT, the reason was that the root had the exact same name as a category (main forum), that I used as an example, so the slug for a (sub) forum is actually:
    /Forum/category_name/(sub)forum_name

Is there a way to remove the “Forum”? Even that feels unnecessary to me. Again I’m no expert in SEO.
    And is there a way to include /category_name/(sub)forum_name in a thread URL?

Robin W

@robin-w

Is there a way to remove the โ€œForumโ€? Even that feels unnecessary to me. Again Iโ€™m no expert in SEO.

given that you don’t know if having these makes SEO worse, neutral or even better, you seem a bit obsessed by it ๐Ÿ™‚

Like you, I am no SEO expert, but I have seen nothing in any discussions of forums for SEO that even mentions the URL’s, and most forums I have seen use this structure.

getfree
    Participant

@getfree

๐Ÿ™‚