Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

last topic/comment

Viewing 11 replies - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)

• fl3xtra
    Participant

@fl3xtra

bmdusers.com is the forum

Mike Witt
    Participant

@mike80222

Hi @fl3xtra,

If I understand correctly the problem you’re having, it’s a bug:

https://bbpress.trac.wordpress.org/ticket/3356

I’ve tried this patch on one of my sites and it appears to work. Bear in mind that I am NOT an expert on this.

Here’s the thread where I found out about the patch:

Several questions regarding freshness

fl3xtra
    Participant

@fl3xtra

How did you go about applying the patch? I see it looks like some php and it needs to be pasted into my site.

fl3xtra
    Participant

@fl3xtra

Got it. Thanks!

Just for those who are curios, you need to edit your php file located under site/wp-content/plugins/bbpress/includes/replies/functions.php

Mike Witt
    Participant

@mike80222

I edited the php file indicated in the trac ticket. On my setup this is:

public_html/wp-content/plugins/bbpress/includes/replies/functions.php

This is a very simple change to one line, but it does require editing the bbPress code, and (AFAIK) can’t be done in a child theme. So you would have to keep this in mind every time you update bbPress.

If you’re not familiar with doing this type of thing, then you probably want to either:

(1) Consider using by bbp-style-pack by @robin-w, which I *believe* fixes this. Robin can answer questions about that.

(2) Just wait for the bug to get fixed. I don’t really know how the priorities for bugs are set, but my impression is that this one could take a while. I might be wrong.

Mike Witt
    Participant

@mike80222

Guess we were typing our replies at the same time. Glad you got it worked out!

2cats
    Participant

@2cats