Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

I need help – get config.php error message…

• I keep getting this error message when I try to go to the url; An old config.php file has been detected in your installation. You should remove it and run the installer again. You can use the same database connection details if you do.

I tried to search for the file, but couldn’t find it. Does anyone know what I’m doing wrong?

Thanks!

Viewing 14 replies - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • delete the bb-config.php file and reinstall by going to the url

where is that file located? The only file I could find relating to bb-config is bb-config-sample.php. Also, what do you mean reinstall by going to the url? Sorry, i’m a complete amateur.

yes exactly where bb-config-sample.php reside.

there should be another file named bb-config.php

Delete it and then you can open the url in browser as domain.com/bbpress

for some reason it’s not there..you think it is located somewhere else within the folder? i tried searching for it but couldn’t find it anywhere

Anyone know where it could be? I searched again and couldn’t find any file name under bb-config.php. It has to be within bb press correct?

Actually, is there any possible way someone could copy the code for the bb-config.php page so I can have it an install it on my server since I can’t seem to find it?

Thanks!

chrishajer
    Participant

@chrishajer

The file bb-config.php is created by the installer using bb-config-sample.php as a template. If you don’t have a bb-config.php then you don’t have to delete it.

Do you have a file called config.php in this directory or one directory up? bbpress will complain if so. You will need to rename that file temporarily is you’re using it for other software.