Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

I give up. Will pay for BBpress migration help.

• bbuser12345
    Participant

@bbuser12345

I have tried many times to use the migration plug in and I cannot get it to work. So I have put an ad up on oDesk if anyone is interested in helping me out.

An aside:

I will save my long rant about how poor the documentation for this process is because frankly I am exhausted and exasperated. You guys work so hard and do such good work, but you drop the ball on the simple issue of documentation, so people’s experience with your amazing product (I’ve been using it for 5 years) is one of frustration and anger.

If you create a tool/wizard to help non-web developers use your complicated product you cannot assume they are web developers. Spell things out provide details.

For example: Don’t say “Database Server: Leave as ‘localhost’ unless your hosting provider requires you to use an IP address.”

Instead say something like “Database Server: This is the name of the database server where your OLD data base is located, normally it is “localhost” (no quotes), but sometimes it has a different name or you must provide the IP address of the server. This varies based on how the company where you host your website has things set up.”

Notice the details that a developer probably does not need, but the average user you created the wizard for will need and will get tripped up by.

I am a data scientists. I program all day and I have sent 4 or 5 hours trying to get the migration to work and still no dice.

BBPress Message Board Migration: Step 1 upgrade database
    Fixed Price Project – Est. Budget $20.00 – Posted 13 minutes ago

Job Description
    I have a site that is currently using bbPress 1.1-alpha-2539 and I need to finally move to the latest plug-in wordpress version. I need help with the entire process, but this ad is for step 1, migrating the database.