Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

how the bbpress’s front page controller works?

• hi,

I installed a bbpress with the wordpress integration. But when I access one topic like:

http://localhost/wordpress/bbpress/topic/1?replies=1

the browser display:

404 Not Found

The requested URL /bbpress/topic/1?replies=1 does not exist.

I don’t know how the bbpress front page works, so I cann’t find the real page the url above specify. Can someone give me some guids or any document about it. I browered and searched this site and found nothing about it.

Thanks

hywl51

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Most likely you forgot to set pretty permalink. https://bbpress.org/documentation/faq/#pretty-permalinks

Thank Atsutane.

I set pretty permalink and got bbpress working.

I am a newbie for PHP and eager to know how the box work behind the page. Can you please give me some advice or link about the question I mentioned before–how the bbpress front page works?

Thanks

hywl51

Actually i don’t know what do you mean by “how the bbpress front page works?” Do you mean the page structure or do you mean the url structure?

Hi Atsutane

Let’s explain the question clearly:

https://bbpress.org/forums/topic/242?replies=4

For url above, I want to know which page that url will finally located on. I guess all request will be first directed to index.php, but how about the next step and which page on earth will be directed to display the main body of page.

I am not native English, I don’t know if I have made the question clear.

Thanks for you kind response.

hywl51

You’ll have noticed that there’s no “topic” subdirectory inside your “forums” directory, so what I think you’re asking is “is bbPress really serving a page that doesn’t physically exist on my hard drive?”

The answer is yes, bbPress generates the page on the fly, so there is no stored page that has the content of that URL.