Categories
Search
Bottom

Frustrated with Login/Register – Help?

• AuthorAdam
    Participant

@authoradam

Hello!

I’ve searched the forums for a topic that has the same issues as I’m having, to no avail. I have created a website using wordpress.org (http://meechanchronicles.com/Install), and installed bbPress version 2.53. I’ve been able to create the forum, and using wordpress, I’ve created a couple of forums and one topic.

I followed the bbPress codex for adding Login/Register pages, as well as a Lost Password page. Whenever I try and access the forum from the outside (ie not logged into WordPress), I seem to be stick in a circular link that never actually does anything.

In addition, neither the Register/Lost Password pages work, returning a 404 error. I’ve double checked the shortcode links as well as made sure that the permalink addresses are spelled correctly and match the shortcodes.

I am totally new to creating forums, but I feel that I’m missing something simple. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
    Adam

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)

• John James Jacoby
    Keymaster

@johnjamesjacoby

Maybe this is already obvious, but if you’re already logged in, those pages aren’t going to work for you; bbPress will either show a message, or redirect away from them, depending on what you’re setup is.

The login page here is a (much more complicated) version of what is already in bbPress core, using a WordPress Page and the shortcode. (It’s only complex because of shared logins and integration with WordPress.org, Trac, BuddyPress.org, etc…) Meaning, it can’t be broken for you, because if you’re only using bbPress’s method and shortcodes, it’s exactly what’s also working here.