Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Forum icons for new posts

• Hello

I’m new in bbpress and I don’t find how to know if there are a new post when I go to my forum page.

In other forum there are icon who say it’s new posts or it ‘s a new reply.

How can I do it with bbpress ? plz

PS: excuse my bad english I ‘m french.

PS2; I can’t reset my password with my first account too* (Nirzol) so I create a new one Nirzol1

EDIT : Same for sticky, there are no icons ? How people know is a sticky ? Or perhaps I do something wrong ? need help.

http://rplayers.com/forums/

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Maybe I’m not in the good forum ?

Anointed
    Participant

@anointed

You could always use a custom Page for your forum homepage. On that page you can use shortcodes in order to display the most recent posts if you like.

bbp-forum-index

bbp-topic-index

Just an idea.

OK i will try this.

And with a custom page I can have a specific sidebar for forum too isn’t it ?

Because with the standar installation I can’t make a sidebar just for forum

An other questions : no way too have icons before each topics or categorie forum? (like phpbb ?) to notice read / unread posts ? or new posts?

Maybe with a class in html and with css ?

thx anointed

Anointed
    Participant

@anointed

For sidebars you need to look into using either widget logic plugins, or simply creating your own child theme and inserting a bbPress sidebar instead of the default one. Not to hard to do, but way more involved than I care to try and answer in a post.

There are a number of classes in the code for the posts such as sticky, super-sticky, etc, but there are currently no classes or functions for determining if the user has read a topic or not.