Skip to:

Favorites and subscription count

• Azinfiro

I’m trying to find a way to display a given user’s raw subscription or favorites count in a fashion similar to how bbp_get_user_reply_count_raw() and bbp_get_user_topic_count_raw() work.

I’ve tried to use an existing function like bbp_get_user_subscriptions() with a counter but I figure I need to query the database. I’m still learning PHP though so if anyone sees a way to do it like that then please let me know.

Thank you.

Viewing 4 replies - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)

• Robin W

what are you planning to count, topics, forums or both?

and if you count a forum as subscribed, do you want to count all the topics within that forum as subscribed?

the list of forums/topics subscribed to is held in usermeta under WP__bbp_subscriptions and an example would look like

so it would count a forum and a topic each as 1.

you could add a check to see which were topics and which forums and display separately.

You’d access it using a function like

$user_id = wp_get_current_user()->ID;
    $check=get_user_meta( $user_id, 'WP__bbp_subscriptions' ,false);
    some if statement here in case it's blank
    then set a counter to zero
    foreach ( $check as $count ) {
    increment the counter in here
    maybe one count if it's a topic and another if its a reply?
    then carry on to a display

Favorites are held in ‘WP__bbp_favorites’

If you want some code to display the results, look at my topic count plugin

Hope that’s sufficient to get you going to a solution, come back if you need more help

Also in terms of bbPress users can look at other users favorites:

But you cannot see other users subscriptions, only your own:

You can see your subscriptions, I cannot, you want to take this into account when showing these counts wherever you are planning on doing this so users only see their own subscription counts.

Thank you for the quick, helpful reply. Sorry I didn’t get back to you sooner.