Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

diagnosing sql connections spike

• hi all,

i’ve been running a small private bbpress forum for about 6 months now. overall things have been working quite smoothly. we have one persistent problem though; our sql connections occasionally spike and max out giving us the “oh dear” page until things settle down. until a few weeks ago i was blaming our host, but now that i’ve been monitoring the server with ‘mysql administrator’ i can see that it’s the connections that are the problem. usually we’ll be running just fine at about 10-20% connection capacity and then wham, spike to 90-100% and down we go for a few minutes (occasionally more).

how can i figure out what’s causing these spikes? any help would be greatly appreciated.

Viewing 12 replies - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Are you running anything else, or just bbPress? Is this your own server or a shared host?

we only have bbpress running on a shared host.

_ck_
    Participant

@_ck_

Install bb-benchmark but that won’t show why the sheer connection number has increased.

bbPress only uses one connection per page load, but the number of queries can vary.

well, i installed bb-benchmark but i’m not sure how that can help. when my connections spike i can’t access the database so….

there’s definitely a pattern here though. the spikes usually occur in the early morning at the same time.

here’s the benchmark info from when the spike was coming down:

08:01:47 up 71 days, 5:08, 0 users, load average: 1.47, 1.43, 1.39

total page time: 5.009 seconds.

time to reach each section:

bb_underscore_plugins_loaded = 0.170

bb_plugins_loaded = 0.178

bb_init = 0.178

bb_index.php_pre_db = 4.966

front-page.php = 4.967

header.php = 4.968

logged-in.php = 4.971

footer.php = 5.008

total query count: 10

_ck_
    Participant

@_ck_