Categories
Search
Bottom

Confused – Am I missing something?

• paladinbrewer
    Participant

@paladinbrewer

Hello,

So I am new to wordpress and bbpress. For forum usage I am very used to phpbb3. I installed bbpress + buddypress because my wordpress theme supports it, but upon playing with it, it doesn’t feel like forums at all.

1) Why can’t I do a normal forum layout:

Category 1
    Forum 1
    Forum 1 description
    Forum 2
    Forum 2 description
    Category 2
    Etc

2) Where is the normal forum functionality? Signatures, Mark all as read, statistics, Who’s Online, etc

3) No usergroups or controls? How do I set private forums? Some forums I want people to read and reply, but not create new posts. I can’t do this?

4) It doesnt seem it even tells me which forum has new posts and which doesn’t? Maybe that’s a Theme issue?

So is bbpress actual forums or meant for something else? Or am I missing it all entirely?

Viewing 24 replies - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)

• Robin W

@robin-w

bbpress is a lite forum which lets you add other plugins to add functionality. Therefore you can pick and choose what you want.

so

1. https://wordpress.org/plugins/bbp-style-pack/

dashboard>settinngs>bbp style pack>forum templates

dashboard>settinngs>bbp style pack>other bbpress plugins will give you a useful list, including signature

bbPress – Mark as Read

more follows …

Robin W

@robin-w

3. bbp private groups

Private groups

paladinbrewer
    Participant

@paladinbrewer

Yes I found most of these since my last post, I just hate to have to rely on plugins. Number 4 I can’t find. A person should be able to see which forums are read or unread by the text color or icon? Also instead of “key master” etc can it short custom groups/titles under usernames as well as perhaps info from custom profile fields?

Robin W

@robin-w

I just hate to have to rely on plugins

just a difference in philosophy – one big plugin or several smaller ones, it ends up much the same!