Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Check if a user is logged in?

Viewing 16 replies - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)

• mirce

@mirce

It can do done with IF and User ID.

I do not know the file that deals with user login but something like this should work:

If $user_id = 4;

echo “what ever you want to show to user #4”

macwise

@macwise

are you running integration with wordpress?

macwise

@macwise

In regards to Mirce’s solution, I would think a more global (and simpler) solution would be this if statement:

<?php if ( bb_is_user_logged_in() ) { ?>;
    --PUT WHATEVER YOU WANT THEM TO SEE HERE--
    <?php } ? >

This way you don’t need to find out WHO the user is (user_id), but simply whether or not they’re logged in.

I’m pretty new to this, though, so maybe Mirce knows something I don’t?

mirce

@mirce

Yes, macwise gave a better solution. I was thinking that FofR wants to show something when a specific user is logged.

I am new to and I think that your solution is better.

Trent Adams

@trent

I am personally tired of having information up to Bozo’s, so I like to use:

<?php if (bb_current_user_can('write_posts')) : ?>
    DO SOMETHING
    <?php endif; ?>

That way, the users who are members see the content and spammers cannot! (At least I think not….not going to mark myself as BOZO to find out)

Trent

That doesn’t work when I add that to my WordPress (it has integrated functions). Nothing appears when I added the code. Also, what is the code to display content if user is logged in, else (if not logged in) display some other content.

chrishajer
    Participant

@chrishajer

parthatel can you post your code here?

What function are you using to check if the user is logged in? Does it error out or does it just not display any content (if it does not error, then the function is probably a valid function.)

And showing one content for logged in members and other content for other members is pretty basic PHP:

<?php
    if (bb_is_user_logged_in() ) {