Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Change Post Author?

• John James Jacoby
    Keymaster

@johnjamesjacoby

Any plug-ins out there to add a change post author capability similar to WordPress, maybe in the admin panel or the admin area of the topic.php page?

Viewing 13 replies - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • What do you mean exactly? You want to take over the owner role of a post?

So you post as user, but afterwards change the author to another name or what?

John James Jacoby
    Keymaster

@johnjamesjacoby

Nothing with roles, actually something much simpler.

As an administrator, I would like to have a drop-down list on the post-form.php that has a list of all forum members, so that I can assign or change the author of a post.

Within the <?php if ( is_bb_tag() || is_front() ) : ?> there would be another drop down list, but rather than forum, would be the list of authors to say started that topic.

How would a list like that handle forums with lots of members?

_ck_
    Participant

@_ck_

I have a bit of code that does an ajax-ish drop down of all members and adding something up near the topic meta area is really easy but I still don’t understand why you’d want to change the author of a topic on a regular basis?

John James Jacoby
    Keymaster

@johnjamesjacoby

It isn’t about it being a regular basis, it’s about it being possible.

In my testing and installing of bbPress, I usually bounce back and forth between a KeyMaster, an Admin, and a Member test account, and sometimes I am logged in and make a post under the wrong one. :)

It’s more for convenience and possibility sake than it is for daily use or practicality.

Forums with many users would just have a million entries in the drop down. Heck I dunno man I just thought of this idea! :)