Categories
Search
Bottom

Change “Freshness” to show topic creator

• Dreamsync
    Participant

@dreamsync

Hi there,

I have a community that has been providing feedback that it is confusing to them when it shows the last poster rather than the person who started the topic.. I am assuming there is a simple bit of code that can help me with this, but I am no php expert..

Ideally, Id like to change the Freshness column to a Creator column that shows who created the topic.. See example: http://imgur.com/Wv0FnQr

Thanks in advance 🙂

Viewing 4 replies - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)

• rayjay
    Participant

@rayjay

Make a child theme of the bbpress first.

Then you need to edit the loop-single-topic.php file in your child theme to move the code below to replace the other code on the bottom..

<?php do_action( 'bbp_theme_before_topic_meta' ); ?>

<p class="bbp-topic-meta">

<?php do_action( 'bbp_theme_before_topic_started_by' ); ?>

<span class="bbp-topic-started-by"><?php printf( __( Started by: '%1$s', 'bbpress' ), bbp_get_topic_author_link( array( 'size' => '14' ) ) ); ?></span>

<?php do_action( 'bbp_theme_after_topic_started_by' ); ?>

<?php if ( !bbp_is_single_forum() || ( bbp_get_topic_forum_id() !== bbp_get_forum_id() ) ) : ?>

<?php do_action( 'bbp_theme_before_topic_started_in' ); ?>

<span class="bbp-topic-started-in"><?php printf( __( 'in: <a href="%1$s">%2$s</a>', 'bbpress' ), bbp_get_forum_permalink( bbp_get_topic_forum_id() ), bbp_get_forum_title( bbp_get_topic_forum_id() ) ); ?></span>

<?php do_action( 'bbp_theme_after_topic_started_in' ); ?>

<?php endif; ?>

</p>

<?php do_action( 'bbp_theme_after_topic_meta' ); ?>

replace the abvoe code with below code..

<?php do_action( 'bbp_theme_before_topic_freshness_link' ); ?>

<?php bbp_topic_freshness_link(); ?>

<?php do_action( 'bbp_theme_after_topic_freshness_link' ); ?>

<p class="bbp-topic-meta">

<?php do_action( 'bbp_theme_before_topic_freshness_author' ); ?>