Categories
Search
Bottom

Private: appended twice to forum title

• sarau
    Participant

@sarau

Hello,
    I’ve set up bbPress on a clients’ website. They have a private forum and unfortunately the word “Private” gets appended to the forum title twice. The actual title that I created is “Parish News and Discussion” but on the page it reads “Private: Private: Parish News and Discussion” Is there a reasonable way to fix this? I am not a php developer so please keep that in mind when responding. Thanks in advance for any help you can give me!
    – Sara

Viewing 16 replies - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)

• sarau
    Participant

@sarau

Sorry, I forgot to mention that I’m using WordPress version 3.8.1 (the latest as of this writing) and bbPress version 2.5.3 The url wouldn’t show the problem since the forum is private and you would only see “No Results Found” on the page as a non-logged in non-member of the site.

This is another usability issue I’d love to solve if anyone has a solution. If you are a member of the site but not logged in, you should see a prompt to login rather than “No Results Found”

Robin W

@robin-w

This plugin might let you change the words

EDIT: Robin, I removed the code you posted as it was not really what was needed, check the plugin below. Cheers, Stephen

@sarau Download the plugin here https://gist.github.com/ntwb/8662354

Or add the code to your own custom plugin or child themes functions.php

If you have a ‘Private’ forum the title will include PRIVATE: PRIVATE: as a title prefix.

Eg. This is a private forum titled PRIV and becomes PRIVATE: PRIVATE: PRIV

The plugin above will remove the PRIVATE: PRIVATE: title prefix.

Zane
    Participant

@zane

Hey Stephen,

Up until earlier today when I adjusted forum settings I believe it would just say “PRIVATE: Forumname”. Now I see “PRIVATE: PRIVATE Forumname”. Not sure what I changed to make that start happen.

Is there a reason why you would want to say “PRIVATE: PRIVATE: Forumname”?