Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Integrating WP Menu in my bbPress template

• TonyVitabile

@tonyvitabile

Hi folks. I’m pretty new to WordPress — I’ve only been working with it for about a month. And brand new to bbPress–I just installed it last week

I’ve got a theme installed on my WordPress MU site that I like. I want the bbPress pages to look similar. So I’m in the process of editing the bbPress template. Basically I want to use the same style sheet & just change all of the id tags to the ones that are in the stylesheet.

In addition, though, I’d like the two sites to share menus. I’ve got a nice horizontal dropdown menu that came with my theme that I’m using. The menu contains the pages in my WordPress blog.

I’ve duplicated the code for the menu in my bb-press theme’s header.php, but there is no wp_list_pages function in bbPress. Should I just write a function & add it to a functions.php file for my template? I suppose I can steal some of the wordpress code for the function & just modify the variables as necessary.

Does this sound like a good approach, or has someone else done this?

Also, I want the menu in both systems to have links to individual forums. Having a Forums link in the menu is cool, but I want 2 specific forums in other places in the menu structure. Any ideas?

Thanks

Tony

Viewing 9 replies - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)

• Rohan Kapoor

@rohan_kapoor

Yes. The Idea is called Deep Integration. You’re looking for something like this: http://wpmu.zyrot.com/ and then http://wpmu.zyrot.com/forums/ right?

If so, I will help you, please email me at rohan@rohan-kapoor.com

TonyVitabile

@tonyvitabile

Thanks. I’ve been reading a little about deep integration & I’m not sure I want the overhead. This is a new site with only about 45 pages or so of static content, to date, and the amount of content will grow over time. Getting bbPress to load WordPress, too, sounds like it will slow everything down, especially as content grows.