Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Registered Users anonymous posting ability

• mithrandir
    Participant

@mithrandir786

I would like to integrate anonymous posting for registered users with my bbPress forum. ie. logged in users should have the ability to be anonymous if they choose to do so. The entire board is private and requires membership so guest posting is not an option.

I have searched high and low for a plugin yet no luck. In my particular case, there are certain members who are embarrassed to post certain topics or questions, anonymous posting would give them the freedom to ask and participate without being judged by the community.

I was hoping someone could offer there expertise and give me a nudge in the right direction, as to what would be the best way to develop such a feature, regarding which functions and files of the bbPress core i should be looking at. I am relatively new to php and programming in general and any advice/guidance would be a huge help for me.

Thanking you for your time and help

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

• Robin W

@robin-w

suggest you set up a user called say ‘anon’ and let users know the password. That way they can log onto the site with that name and be anon

mithrandir
    Participant

@mithrandir786

suggest you set up a user called say ‘anon’ and let users know the password. That way they can log onto the site with that name and be anon

Thank you very much for replying,

I understand, I was hoping to integrate a more seamless experience for the users; the members of this board are not very tech savvy, as they have difficulty with basic tasks such as navigating a forum and remembering their own passwords. In this particular case, I don’t believe it would be a favorable solution.