Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Process to adapt a theme for bbpress?

• Can someone please walk me through the process to adapt a theme to bbpress? I have been able to use the TwentyTen bbpress them successfully and I love it. But, I’ve tried just installing the plugin with other themes to no avail because the page templates do not show when creating a new forum page.

I know it involves copying the files from TwentyTen/bbpress but I am not sure where and what other steps are involved.

I am a newbie, but, I can modify css if needed.

Many thanks.

Bob

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

• baldg0at
    Participant

@baldg0at

Here’s a real basic rundown of what I did.

Add this to your theme’s functions.php file

add_theme_support( ‘bbpress’ );

Create a Child theme for your current theme — https://codex.wordpress.org/Child_Themes

Copy the files from plugins>bbpress>bbp-themes>bbp-twentyten into your child theme folder.

Go to your WP Admin and activate your child theme

Edit the child theme as needed to match your site. You may be able to get by with just editing yourchildtheme>css>bbpress.css, but you can change any of the theme files to make the forums look however you want.

Thank you for that. I am going to try that tonight on my practice site and will let you know how it works.

Isn’t it crazy that those instructions aren’t part of the basic bbpress documents or FAQ?

A couple of questions, does it matter if I do that before or after installing and activating bbpress?

And, should the child theme contain the modified functions.php? If it doesn’t wouldn’t the modifications get blown away during a theme upgrade?

Thanks

Well after a couple hours I couldn’t get it to work. I followed the instructions but I made the following adjustment. I created a new functions.php in the child folder with the line

add_theme_support( ‘bbpress’ );