Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Fix or remove bozo function before it kills bbPress

• chrishajer
    Participant

@chrishajer

The bozo function seems to be broken. Just do a search of this forum for bozo and you will see tons of questions from people who have just installed bbPress, they post but the posts don’t show, or they are the key master and are marked a bozo. If someone has responded to a thread with the word ‘bozo’ these searches will work on this forum:

http://bbpress.org/forums/search.php?q=bozo

http://www.google.com/search?q=site:http://bbpress.org/forums/%20bozo

http://bbpress.org/forums/tags/bozo

I respectfully request a new release with this bozo functionality fixed and functional (waiting for 1.0 is not acceptable IMHO) or a new release with the functionality removed. I have been running a bbPress forum for 6 months or so and I have never had a need to mark someone a bozo, but I have spent countless hours either fixing bozo problems on my own forum or responding to requests on this forum from people who can’t see their own posts, etc. How many other people have used it for what it’s for vs. how many people have been affected by it not working correctly?

Please, fix it or remove it, for the sake of the future of bbPress.

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • You can also alternatively get rid of it all together just by taking this line out of bb-settings.php:

require( BBPATH . BBINC . ‘bozo.php’);

&&

require( BBPATH . BBINC . ‘akismet.php’);

YMMV.

chrishajer
    Participant

@chrishajer

I’m not worried about fixing it for me. I’m worried about fixing it for every new person who comes along and installs it and has a problem immediately. If the above works, that should be the default and that should be released. Anyone who downloads the latest.tar.gz should not have to edit out anything to fix the bozo problem. The default doesn’t work, so it should be changed until it’s fixed. No patches: a new release.