Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Newby a little lost

Viewing 25 replies - 1 through 25 (of 33 total)

• Robin W

@robin-w

yes, you should be able to just have the index.

Check out

Step by step guide to setting up a bbPress forum – Part 1

and if that doesn’t directly help, come back with how you are set up – ie what does menu take you to, what is in that link/post/page/category etc.

kowarler
    Participant

@kowarler

I initially set up up the forum using 3. Method 1 – but ‘postname’ wasn’t an option, so I tried Method 2.

Not sure what you mean by ‘what does menu take you to’ isn’t that the link I sent?

Also, what do you mean by ‘what is in that link/post/page/category etc.’?

Sorry for the stupid questions, I’m a complete beginner!

Robin W

@robin-w

please don’t apologise, I was writing quickly, and should have phrased it better. I’m just trying to work your hierarchy out !

As far as I can see your menu correctly takes you to a page you have set up called forum which has [bbp-forum-index]

yes?

This then links to a ‘forum’ you have set up either as a forum or as a category or a page, but not sure which, so it is this flow from one to another that I am trying to figure.

if you can help by listing this eg

menu goes to page with [bbp-forum-index] which takes you to a forum called ‘forum’ which is set up as a category etc. etc.

Yes?

kowarler
    Participant

@kowarler

Would it help if I gave you the admin details (if so is there a way I can send this privately)?

Robin W

@robin-w

No, it is part of forum rules that we don’t get involved in access to individual sites.

But if you come back with the info, then I’ll try to help further

kowarler
    Participant

@kowarler

OK, I’ll do my best…

question 1) yes it does take me to a page with a forum on it. However I have to click on ‘Forum’ again to see the actual forum

question 2) how can I help you with listing this – ie: is there anything in the ‘page-source’ that would help?