Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Regarding Trunk Releases and Installation

• Hello there.

I’m eager to try out some of Sam’s Trunk Releases on my site, but I keep running into installation issues. Since I’m new to these kind of test releases, it might just be a simple misunderstanding on my part though.

In a nutshell, what I did is download the latest trunk, add a backpress release and try to install as usual.

Well, after changing bb-config-sample.php into bb-config.php in step 1 the installer will just blank out on the following steps.

Are these Releases not supposed to support the installer at this point?

Thanks

Rob

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

• chrishajer
    Participant

@chrishajer

If it’s blanking out, you probably have a syntax problem with your bb-config.php. The installer is supposed to be working still with trunk. What release did you grab, just to be sure this is true?

Do you have access to error logs? You probably have a 500 Internal Server Error being logged.

Well I used yesterdays Trunk Release (1736) and the Backpress folder from here: http://svn.automattic.com/backpress/trunk/includes/

Is there anything else I’d have to add to the Trunk that I possibly missed?

I don’t really think that the bb-config syntax is wrong because it’s working with the Alpha just fine.

Anyways, the code for what it’s worse:

<?php
    // ** MySQL settings ** //
    define('BBDB_NAME', 'xxxxx'); // The name of the database
    define('BBDB_USER', 'xxxxx'); // Your MySQL username
    define('BBDB_PASSWORD', 'xxxxx'); // ...and password
    define('BBDB_HOST', 'localhost'); // 99% chance you won't need to change these last few

define('BBDB_CHARSET', 'utf8'); // If you are *upgrading*, and your old bb-config.php does
    define('BBDB_COLLATE', ''); // not have these two contstants in them, DO NOT define them
    // If you are installing for the first time, leave them here