Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Really basic stuff

• I am new to all this and, frankly, it’s VERY confusing!

I wish there was a place where newbies could go to read about and learn the very basics.

For example, I would like to use Akismet.

But there’s nothing that explains it to folks like me.

I made an account and have a key, but I have no clue what to do with this key!

I know you coders are all really smart, and we noobs are really stupid, but how ’bout one of you humble yourself and put up a step-by-step guide for the virtually retarded among us?

Viewing 14 replies - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)

• kevinjohngallagher

@kevinjohngallagher

The realism is, bbPress is not currently aimed at folks that are not technically minded. That’s not said to put you or anyne else down, it’s just the reality of where we are.

If you like the look of this software, or if you chose it for a particualr reason, then i’d spend some time searching the forums and seeing if any questions you have have already been asked; because documentation is non-existanct.

In terms of your Akismet problem:

• Go to your admin area
    • click on the “plugins” link
    • click on “activate” link under akismet
    • now the step that they tell people about for wordpress but not bbpress
    • click on the “settings” menu on the left hand side
    • the bottom sub menu will say Akismet, click it.
    • input your key
    • click save
    • spent time taking actual posts from users out of spam que because akismet is not optomized for forums

Take care…

You sed: “spend time taking actual posts from users out of spam que because akismet is not optimized for forums”

What? Wait…not optimized for forums? Why do I want this again?

citizenkeith
    Participant

@citizenkeith

Askimet is optimized for WordPress blogs.