Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Plugin help…

• macwise

@macwise

I’m interested in creating my fist plugin. I would like it to allow the user to see/edit the extra profile fields that are present in WordPress when a site has WP integration working. I’m asking for any help to get started on this that someone is willing to offer.

I’m not very experienced with PHP, though I feel I am a pretty quick learner. I have too many questions right now from the reading (http://codex.wordpress.org/Writing_a_Plugin) and from looking at other plugins. I don’t think these questions require more than a few simple pointers and explanations about the structure/basic principles of plugins.

Is anyone out there willing to throw me a bone or two?

Viewing 10 replies - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)

• mirce

@mirce

I had the same problem. Its not very hard to do it. You need to use add_action or add_filter. See my problem here https://bbpress.org/forums/topic/742

This may help also:

https://codex.wordpress.org/Plugin_API#Current_Hooks_For_actions

I have no experience also but I managed to do a plugin.

Good luck!

ardentfrost

@ardentfrost

Honestly all I did to learn was download existing plugins (there weren’t many when I started writing them, so you’re at an advantage there) and check out how certain things were performed… I also used windows search to look through the files of bbpress to see how things were done.

Once you see how it is done currently (or how similar functions work), then you can start writing your own subroutines to either intercept, replace, or just create new functions that can be installed into the themes.

Unfortunately, I don’t know much about dealing with WP. I never wrote anything for WP, and the plugins of mine that play nice with WP only do so because people like Trent and spencer helped me test them.

But if you ask specific questions, there are a number of us here who can help you if we know what you’re asking :)

macwise

@macwise