Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

@ links (mentions)

• Michael
    Participant

@michael888

Have been working on my forum recently, and I have though tof something I’d like to add to it.

Now, I’m no plugin developer, or PHP junkie, but I’d like to know what steps would be needed to turn @ links (mentions, like those found on Twitter) into links that take the user to a members profile page/or maybe even the member’s website (if any).

Example:

‘@matt’ would become ‘@matt

It would obviously have to scan through the post, check for any mentions, check if the user exists, and if it does, then apply the link. Now, I have no idea how this would be implemented – I hope to learn more soon. :)

This may not be a very great idea to have for a bbPress forum, but I think it would be nice. Could anyone help me with this?

Peace, Michael

Viewing 21 replies - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • https://bbpress.org/plugins/topic/easy-twitter-links/#post-4191

Has a conflict with the video plugin on my forum but other than that it work(ed) fine.

if you look at the buddypress code for activity-notifications (can’t remember the filename) but they have a simple function that filters the content, checks for @<username> string, then validates against the usertable and rewrites the content with a link.

Michael
    Participant

@michael888

@OKTeaRoom – I will have a look at that – though I’d also need to find out how to check for member existance.

@etiviti – Thanks, I’ll download it and run through the code. I’m sure it’ll be easy to make the plugin.

Michael
    Participant

@michael888

Right, I have looked at the Easy Twitter Links plugin, but I’m not sure how to alter it to run through the post. I’d probably have some idea if I managed to find the code BuddyPress uses. I wish I could grep the folder, but I don’t have Linux…

kevinjohngallagher

@kevinjohngallagher