Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Has anyone gotten an WYSIWYG editor working with BBPress 2.0?

• dangerZ

@dangerz

I can’t believe more threads haven’t talked about this. How are people using BBPress 2.0 without a wysiwig editor? Im a programmer and dont mind using text or markup, but users certainly do mind.

I’ve tried the Post toolbar — that is WAY too technical for my users since it straight up inserts HTML Markup.

I’ve tried CLEditor, which works out of the box — but generates really crappy HTML that doesn’t handle whitespace correctly.

I want to integrate TinyMCE, CKEditor, or PunyMCE, but it’s just harder than you would think because I dont quite understand the plugin structure and template structure bbpress 2.0 uses.

Any help in regards to hardcoding these editors into a theme, hacking an existing plugin, or even creating a plugin to do this highly appreciated.

Best,

Danger

Viewing 11 replies - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)

• Jared Atchison

@jaredatch

bbP 2.1 has TinyMCE.

You can download 2.1 by clicking Zip Archive on this page: https://bbpress.trac.wordpress.org/browser/branches/plugin

John James Jacoby
    Keymaster

@johnjamesjacoby

Keep in mind that bbPress 2.1 is still in development. It’s pre-release software and there might still be some kinks to work out.

But, on paper it’s *supposed* to be better than 2.0. :)

unholyfruitbat

@unholyfruitbat

That’s a huge relief because honestly I believe the lack of editing options in the core release is what’s holding bbPress back more than anything else.

Jared Atchison

@jaredatch

That very well could be true, however it doesn’t seem to be holding back other forum packages such as Vanilla which offer no advanced wysiwyg editor out-of-the-box.

It was only a matter of time until it made it into bbP core though.

dangerZ

@dangerz

hi jaredatch ,

The reason it’s not holding back Vanilla is because while Vanilla doesn’t have a good wysiwyg editor by default, it has good, working ones