Bottom

Confused re bbpress/buddypress forums and integration

• kriskl

@opentuition

Hi!

I am new to bbpress/buddypress

we are planning to migrate phpbb3 to bbpress,

so, we plan to have wpmu/bbpress/buddypress

what confuses me and my whole concept, is buddypress forums..

as it is, we plan to move php forums to bbpress

but where do buddypress forums stand?

sure, each group can have a forum – that’s all I know – so I guess they wont replace bbpress forums

Has anyone set up bbpress/buddypress forums? could I have a look at your site and how you are using forums?

Kind regards

Kris

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • this question should be addressed on buddypress.org but I know the answer!

The Buddypress’ forums uses the BBpress technology for their Groups. Buddypress has something called Groups. The Groups allow people (your users) to form their own group which they can invite people to join or have people join on their own. The group has it’s own forums controlled by the Group creator. The group creator can add/edit put any forum titles they want. Buddypress adapted the BBpress Forums into the groups.

You’ll have WPMU

BuddyPress with Groups (intergrated BBpress)

BBpress which is a forum only controlled by you.

Good luck. I tried it, got it working for the most part but there are things that aren’t address because it’s three different programs trying to be one.

kriskl

@opentuition

Thanks for quick reply!

it is clearer now

regards

Craig Sunney

@craigsunney

@Gerikg

May I ask a follow on question? I involves the protection of individual forums.

From this post: https://bbpress.org/forums/topic/hide-topics#post-66521 an explanation is

given on how to protect specific groups.

In that post it mentions role’s. If I have specific roles already inside my WP site other than subscriber

(which I think is member in bbPRESS), for example: Free, BRonze, Silver, Gold…can I limit specific