Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Changing what memberlist plugin displays.

• I’m very new to bbPress and am trying to list all members but I want to display specific information. I have installed the memberlist plugin which works brilliantly. However it displays User, Homepage and join date. I would much prefer to see user, location, occupation and interests.

I assume this would be the SQL created by the memberlist plugin but I’m a bit of a noob when it comes to SQL so any help would be great.

I would also like to rename (just for display purposes) ‘interests’ to ‘skills’ on the profile pages and wherever else it might be displayed.

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

• ardentfrost

@ardentfrost

One day I plan to add options such as these to an admin interface, but for the time being, you just gotta do it by hand.

Of course, the trick to that is pulling out the information. get_profile_info_keys seems like it should pass you back an array of those values and you can just get them out of there, except I haven’t attempted to use that function and since it doesn’t ask for any information about the user you’re interested in, I don’t know how to tell you to get the information from that seemingly useful function.

Which takes us to my personal favorite method: SQL commands. You’d be searching through the table bbprefix_usermeta (mine is bbpress_usermeta). Setup a SQL call like this:

$result = $bbdb->get_results("SELECT * FROM $bbdb->usermeta WHERE user_id = $id");

where $id is the id of the person you’re interested in and $result is the object that the person’s data will be loaded into.

Then to access the information, you’d simply call it like this (like, for the example of where the user is from):

$result->from

You can echo that to have it printed or whatever you want done with that information. A quick glance at the database tells me that you can call this information (and what it means):

“from” = location

“occ” = occupation