Search
Bottom

Theme issues

• tansu
    Participant

@tansu

Hello,
    I am very new to bbpress.
    I have successfully convert my 54000 user vbulletin forum in to bbpress. Also converted more than 1 gigabyte contents database without issues. There were some problematic turkish characters but i solved that issue too.
    But, i am sure it was a very well written document about how to modify and adding new themes to bbpress, I understand completely nothing from them. I also read forum topics about the issue, but most of them pointing the links where the docs are.
    I also tried copying folders and files in to wordpress themes directory or my theme’s directory, nothing is happening. Most probably i did not understand anything from the docs here:
    http://codex.bbpress.org/theme-compatibility/
    Can someone please explain to me what to do like explaining to an idiot.Assume my wordpress theme’s name is “wptheme” and please direct me into it by real examples like: Put your wp-content/plugins/bbpress/templates/bbpress folder to wp-content/themes/wordpresstheme folder. or whatever is true 🙂
    Best regards

Viewing 2 replies - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)

• tansu
    Participant

@tansu

OK, now i am feeling more and more like idiot. Everyone says, it is way more easier than the previous versions, just copy the files from plugins folder to your themes root folder and its done…
    Nothing happens.

baylock
    Participant

@baylock

There are two ways for achieving what you need and it took me quite a long time to figure it out too:

1) You create a child theme just like you did but what I didn’t know is that, after doing it (not forgetting to declare the parent template and the “@import” path accordingly in the css file located inside your child theme folder), you NEED to activate the child theme in your theme section of your WordPress admin. This last part is the one I didn’t know about, which is why it didn’t work at first.