Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Remove "Edit this" link at top of topics

• JuaninLAdP
    Participant

@juaninladp

Hey! First time around here, and I’m a total newbie to bbpress. Glad you see you all!

I have a slight problem with my bbpress installation. Users from the forums see an “Edit this” link at the top of the topic and when they use it they can edit the topic in the WordPress post editor.

Is there a way to remove that link?

Thanks!

Viewing 11 replies - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)

• JuaninLAdP
    Participant

@juaninladp

Or, if it is not possible, I’d like to know if there is a way for users to be re-directed to the “Edit” option from bbpress instead of going to the WordPress text editor.

JuaninLAdP
    Participant

@juaninladp

Forgot to put in the details: I’m running WordPress 3.4 and bbpress 2.2.3

Lynq
    Participant

@lynq

You can remove this inside your template.

Do all users see this, or is it just your admin account that can see it? Just wondering as the wordpress edit page is to edit the description of the forum, not replies or topics from users.

JuaninLAdP
    Participant

@juaninladp

Any participant can see the “Edit this” link on the topics they have started. What worries me is that they also have the ability to make sticky and global posts.

Lynq
    Participant

@lynq

Check what the default role people are being assigned inside Settings > Forums > Default User Role

Just to make sure they aren’t being registered as moderators or anything.

JuaninLAdP
    Participant

@juaninladp

I double checked and they are registered as participants by default.

Lynq
    Participant

@lynq

Hmm, not sure, would be useful to see a link, but then of course everyone would have your link to edit your topics/forums.

rsanchez1
    Participant

@rsanchez1

You should double-check capabilities then. From the wp-admin sidebar, go to Users->User Role Editor. Then select the Participant role and see what capabilities that role has.

JuaninLAdP