Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Registration email query

• Ok first post and I’m going to start by saying having only been using bbpress for 2 days I think its great, and just what I was looking for in appearance for a forum ie clutterfree and simple.

I am no expert on this but I’ll try and explain a problem I am having with registration emails. It may not be anything to do with bbpress but I’m hoping someone here may have the experience to help.

PROBLEM: User register seems to be fine and the mysql database is filled with their details. They get the email. All ok. However, if I try to create a different user with the same email (I’m doing this for testing) I never seem to get a registration email. Does bbpress do a check to see if a email address is already being used? I don’t seem to get this problem if a create users with an email address at the domain the forum is hosted. Also if I have an account and use the forgotten password recovery I find I get the email to generate a new password but don’t see the email with the new password.

On top of this yahoo seems to be picking up the registration email as spam, I don’t know if this is normal.

I hope this isn’t too long winded. If anyone has any thoughts I’d love to hear them. I know people are registering with my forum and using it so it does work! But they all have individual passwords. Thanks! :-)

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

• chrishajer
    Participant

@chrishajer

I don’t know the ‘official’ answer, but I have had several users register a new name with an old email address (their username was spelled wrong or something) and they got their email and it works fine.