Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Really long load times to post topic if post has lots of subscribers?

• rossagrant
    Participant

@rossagrant

Hey guys!

Hope everyone’s well!

I’m starting to have some serious load time issues posting replies when a topic has more than a few subscribers.

I have an introduction topic for example.

When I post a reply now, it must take 10 seconds plus to actually be assigned a post number in the URL.

I actually receive the email notification quicker than the post actually bring pushed to the forum and appearing on the front end.

This is only going to grow exponentially.

I’m not a coder so this might be hard work, but is there any way we could get the reply to post THEN queue the emails?

What do you reckon JJ? Do you see this as an issue? Perhaps we could set individual topics to not allow subscribers also. Maybe an admin option?

Would love any suggestions!

Thanks!

Ross 🙂

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Can you create a ticket for this over in trac for this please: https://bbpress.trac.wordpress.org/
    (Adding some ‘numbers’ would also help eg #subscribers & #posts so we can test this ourselves.)

rossagrant
    Participant

@rossagrant

rossagrant
    Participant

@rossagrant

Could this also be anything to do with the way I have my DB set up by any chance? Is there any kind of optimisation that can be done to speed up MySQL queries here?

Thanks!

rossagrant
    Participant

@rossagrant

Just updated Trac.

Here’s my latest findings/ questions on this matter:

Hey JJ, just wanted to drop back in here.
    I’ve duplicated my live site on a brand new dedicated server and the behaviour I was seeing on my shared server is still there.