Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Linking to your bbpress Forum from a WordPress page

• I realize this is a total noob question, and yet I’m not sure what the answer is.

Basically, I’d like to have a wordpress page, “Forum,” link directly to the bbpress forum.

Apparently, just setting up a page called “forum” doesn’t cut it.

What is the proper protocol?

The forum is set up here:

http://www.lsatwin.net/forum/lsat/score-higher/

Thanks.

Viewing 10 replies - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)

• lindsaymcghee

@lindsaymcghee

Was this ever solved? I am having the same problem.

hmmm…

I have tried making the permalink forum and forums. I think it registers with forums but no topics are showing up.

Thanks

Nope.. pure silence

lindsaymcghee

@lindsaymcghee

I figured it out…

Don’t create a page. The files are set up through the WordPress hierarchy system using permalinks. Without changing the settings in the BBPress system, your forum will be placed at forums/forum/title where title is the title of the first forum you create.

If you need to get it in your menu system use menus and create a custom link to the correct permalink location.

Hope this helps,

Lindsay

Thanks Lindsay

How do you create a custom link to a permalink location?

lindsaymcghee

@lindsaymcghee

Your theme first of all has to have custom menus as an option such that you can create pages and they won’t all publish to your top menu. There is a custom link section in the menu sections of those themes that have custom menus activated. The theme you are currently using is 2011 I believe and it doesn’t have custom menus installed.

If you are lost google it… there are a lot of tutorials out there.

Thanks bunches!

It worked! The theme 2011 does actually support what you’re talking about.

You DO need to choose a custom menu – at first I tried it without selecting a custom menu. That does not work.