Skip to:
Content
Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

Installation madness o_O

• Hi everyone,

I’ve successfully installed PHPBB3 forums, WordPress blogs etc etc… and somehow, I’m having a nightmare installing BBpress…

I’m not a coding/IT guru but I’m not a beginner either so this makes the thing even more frustrated. By wanting to make the installation process easy, the description lacks a lot of details I believe. Here’s what I have:

– Yahoo web hosting

– MySQL Server version: 4.1.14

– MySQL client version: 3.23.49

– phpMyAdmin latest version

Steps:

1. download bbpress

2. upload it to gufugumu.com/bbpress

3. go to the url gufugumu.com/bbpress -> installation window appears fine

4. Step1 – fill the information

– Database name : guillos

– Database user : admin

– Database password : *********

Then comes the famous error : “There was a problem connecting to the database you specified. Please check the settings, then try again.”

So I can’t pass step1. I then look in the forum but could not find anything usefull. One would expect that installing a forum should not require advanced PHP or MySQL knowledge. This is quite annoying.

Also, if I try to remove the “-sample” from the “bb-config-sample.php” then I get the error message “ERROR: Could not establish a database connection”. Finally, I have also created the database in phpMyAdmin. Of course there’s 0 tables.

Any help would be extremly nice as I’m about to give up and go for PHPBB3…

Thanks in advance

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Don’t rename bb-config-sample.

Finally, I have also created the database in phpMyAdmin. Of course there’s 0 tables.

That’s fine :) You have to create the DB before bbPress can connect to it. bbPress doesn’t make the DB for you (any more than WordPress does so this should be familiar).