Categories
Search
Bottom

Importing from Invision 3.4.3 impossible

• Zefred
    Participant

@zefred

Hello everybody,

I’m completely new to bbpress, but I’ve been running a wordpress site for years.
    After years of Invision power board, separately from my wordpress site, i’d like to use somthing simpler and I think bbpress is the good tool for that. Cherry on the cake, I notoiced that bbpress offers an importation engine with almost every well-know forums.
    Since I tried to import my invision forum, it was completely impossible and the importation tool keeps saying there’s nothing to import.
    I have double-ckecked all my invision database server information, but there is no mistake.
    Did someone tried to import the 3.4.3 version or do I have to migrate to the last version?
    Thank you in advance for your help.

Viewing 17 replies - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • All Invision 3.1x, 3.2x, 3.3x and 3.4.x versions should import fine… Remember to make sure you select ‘Invision’ from the dropdown (I still make this mistake quite frequently :P)

Maybe open up your Invision config file conf_global.php and confirm your settings:

$INFO['sql_host']			=	'localhost';
    $INFO['sql_database']			=	'my_db_name';
    $INFO['sql_user']			=	'my_db_user';
    $INFO['sql_pass']			=	'my_password';
    $INFO['sql_tbl_prefix']			=	'iv34_';

Also to note some web hosts will not use ‘localhost’ and use a FQDN instance eg. ‘sql1234.example.com’

Zefred
    Participant

@zefred

Thank you for your quick answer.
    Nevertheless, that’s exactly what I do. I’ve taken all information from my invision config file… with the server url (which is different from ‘localhost’).

Zefred
    Participant

@zefred

Do you think there is a limit with database size? There is almost 100,000 posts and the database is bigger than 350 Mb

Do you think there is a limit with database size?