My forum is using gmail for email setting. However my user can't received email when registering using hotmail or yahoo but they received it using gmail. Does it has something to do with the email coding that caused the email to be block? If it is, i really hope you guys fixed it for the next version :).
bbPress support forums » Requests and Feedback
Email bugs
(11 posts)-
Posted 2 months ago #
-
What do you mean your forum is using gmail for email setting? Do you mean you are using the google smtp server to send out your mail, or do you mean something else?
If you post your forum's URL, people can try registering and let you know the results.
Posted 2 months ago # -
my forum url www.jessians.co.cc/forum. I put in gmail address for the E-mail address:<gmail>. Emails sent by the site will appear to come from this address. Yahoo and hotmail user receive the password in their spam but it took a few hours to reach them.
Posted 2 months ago # -
is there any plugin that allow me to use stmp instead?
Posted 2 months ago # -
How about something from this thread:
http://bbpress.org/forums/topic/trick-to-fix-some-email-problems-with-08x-plugins-on-09xPosted 2 months ago # -
BTW, I registered two accounts, one my own domain, one gmail, and after 10 minutes I still have no email from your forum. Normally, I get the mail from a new bbPress registration within seconds.
Where is this website hosted (physically, in which country is the server)?
Posted 2 months ago # -
I received the message at gmail after 10 minutes total:
from Jessians' Forum <xxxxxxxxxxxxx@gmail.com> to xxxxxxxxxx@gmail.com date Wed, Jun 25, 2008 at 11:27 AM subject Jessians' Forum: Password mailed-by admin2.byetcluster.com 11:27 AM (17 minutes ago) Message-Id: <20080625162901.E5B6B194CD@node2.byetcluster.com> Date: Wed, 25 Jun 2008 12:29:01 -0400 (EDT) Your username is: xxxxxxxxxxx Your password is: abcdefgh1jkl You can now log in: http://jessians.co.cc/forum/ Enjoy! Spam Filtered (ID:1971432)That last line, "Spam Filtered" is not normally in my gmail messages. That got added somewhere along the way, before it got to gmail.
I still don't have the other message.
Posted 2 months ago # -
Interestingly, these headers are in this message:
X-Assp-Re-Spamlover: Password X-Assp-Received-DNSBL: pass X-Assp-Whitelisted: Yes X-Assp-Tag: DNSBL X-Assp-Envelope-From: root@admin2.byetcluster.com
Looks like the host is doing some outbound spam filtering?Posted 2 months ago # -
I received both message now, one after 9 minutes one after 10 minutes.
Posted 2 months ago # -
One thing that helped me with this problem was adding an SPF record (http://old.openspf.org/wizard.html). You have to add this record to your DNS. This really really helped with verification emails, although it's not perfect...
Posted 2 months ago # -
Thanks for the testing. Really appreciate it. I check with the hosting and apperently they have problem with spammer before. That probably the reason why the mail goes into spam in yahoo and hotmail and why it took so long to send the mail. I'll already delete your testing user. Thx again
Posted 2 months ago #
Reply
You must log in to post.