Pages
Categories
Search
Bottom

CSS Plugin

• Solidify
    Participant

@solidify

My theme comes with an option in the settings to add my own CSS codes. I love it because I’m just starting out and learning a lot about CSS by just putting snippets of code in there and seeing what it does. Of course none of it fazes my forum and that really really sucks because I’ve read a lot of great reviews about bbPress and I’d like to use it on my site.

Why doesn’t bbPress have the same feature? Is there an up to date plugin I can use, or do I have to create a custom style sheet?

Viewing 12 replies - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)

• Robin W

@robin-w

I have thought several times about building a bbPress styling plugin, but not had time yet !

There’s plenty about styling in the documentation

Codex

including a styling crib

bbPress Styling Crib

and instructions on how to style

Step by step guide to setting up a bbPress forum – part 2

Brent Brooks
    Participant

@blankstage

I use a theme and drop in CSS in an ePanel. So far it seems to be working. CSS confuses me but I think it is the code that creates the forum and the makers have made it so when you do it it does not destroy the core of the code – but one can alter it and delete it later and it all returns to normal…

Robin W

@robin-w

@blankstage – not a bad description of what css does. css (cascade style sheets) changes the way the information is displayed – for instance font sizes, colours, where stuff appears, backgrounds. So the core code decides what is displayed, and css how !

some themes allow you to alter css, some don’t, but you can use a plugin such as ‘simple css’ to add css code without needing to access the backend.

Why not just enter your custom bbPress CSS in your themes custom CSS Editor?

It should work just as it does for your themes CSS.

Brent Brooks
    Participant

@blankstage